Gay marriage amendment on way to Tenn. voters

Gay marriage amendment on way to Tenn. voters

March 17, 2005

NASHVILLE (AP) -- Voters in the 2006 election for governor will also decide whether to imbed a ban on gay marriage in the state constitution.

The state House Thursday morning passed the resolution on a vote of 88-7, echoing an earlier two-thirds passage in the Senate.

When it goes before the voters, the measure will need more than a simple majority. Amending the Tennessee Constitution requires passage by a number of votes that equals a majority of ballots cast in the governor's race.

Rep. Bill Dunn, a Knoxville Republican, says he feels he was doing right in sponsoring the bill and says it's proper for government to be involved in defining marriage.

Beverly Marrero, of Memphis, says she voted against it because the measure would write discrimination into the state constitution.

   William Baird, Jacksboro
   Harry Brooks, Knoxville
   Dewayne Bunch, Cleveland
   Stacey Campfield, Knoxville
   Glen Casada, Franklin
   Chris Clem, Lookout Mountain
   Jerome Cochran, Elizabethton
   Chris Crider, Milan
   David Davis, Johnson City
   Tom DuBois, Columbia
   Bill Dunn, Knoxville
   Jimmy A. Eldridge, Jackson
   Steve Godsey, Blountville
   Dolores Greshman, Somerville
   Tre Hargett, Bartlett
   Michael Harrison, Sneedville
   Beth Halteman Harwell, Nashville
   David Hawk, Greeneville
   Joey Hensley, Hohenwald
   Matthew Hill, Jonesborough
   Curtis G. Johnson, Clarksville
   Phillip Johnson, Pegram
   Russell Johnson, Loudon
   Brian Kelsey, Germantown
   Susan M. Lynn, Mt. Juliet
   Debra Young Maggart, Hendersonville
   Judd Matheny, Tullahoma
   Joe McCord, Maryville
   Gerald McCormick, Chattanooga
   Steve McDaniel, Parkers Crossroads
   Bob McKee, Athens
   Richard Montgomery, Sevierville
   Jason Mumpower, Bristol
   Chris Newton, Cleveland
   Frank Niceley, Knoxville
   Doug Overbey, Maryville
   W.C. Bubba Pleasant, Arlington
   Dennis E. Roach, Rutledge
   Donna Rowland, Murfreesboro
   Charles Michael Sargent, Franklin
   Jack Sharp, East Ridge
   Paul Stanley, Memphis
   Park M. Strader, Knoxville
   Eric H. Swafford, Pikeville
   Curry Todd, Memphis
   Bo Watson, Hixson
   Stratton Bone, Lebanon
   Willie Borchert, Camden
   Frank Buck, Dowellton
   Curt Cobb, Shelbyville
   Kent Coleman, Murfreesboro
   Charles Curtiss, Sparta
   Eugene E. Davidson, Adams
   John J. DeBerry Jr., Memphis
   Lois DeBerry, Memphis
   Joanne Favors, Chattanooga
   Dennis Ferguson, Kingston
   Craig Fitzhugh, Ripley
   Joe Fowlkes, Cornersville
   George W. Fraley, Winchester
   Jim Hackworth, Clinton
   Jere Hargrove, Cookeville
   Bill Harmon, Dunlap
   John Hood, Murfreesboro
   Sherry Jones, Nashville
   Ulysses Jones Jr., Memphis
   Mike Kernell, Memphis
   Edith Taylor Langster, Nashville
   John Litz, Morristown
   Mark L. Maddox, Dresden
   Michael Ray McDonald, Portland
   Kim McMillan, Clarksville
   Larry J. Miller, Memphis
   Gary W. Moore Sr., Joelton
   Speaker Jimmy Naifeh, Covington
   Gary Odom, Nashville
   Phillip Pinion, Union City
   Mary Pruitt, Nashville
   Randy Rinks, Savannah
   Johnny Shaw, Bolivar
   David Shepard, Dickson
   John C. Tidwell, New Johnsonville
   Joe Towns Jr., Memphis
   Mike Turner, Old Hickory
   Nathan Vaughn, Kingsport
   Ben West Jr., Hermitage
   Les Winningham, Huntsville
   Eddie Yokley, Greeneville
   Joe Armstrong, Knoxville
   Rob Briley, Nashville
   Tommie Brown, Chattanooga
   Beverly Marrero, Memphis
   Janis Baird Sontany, Nashville
   Harry J. Tindell, Knoxville
   Larry Turner, Memphis
   Henri Brooks, Memphis
   Kathryn Bowers, Memphis
   Barbara Cooper, Memphis
   John Mark Windle, Livingston

Copyright 2005 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.