Familiar faces remain in Knox Co. offices

Familiar faces remain in Knox Co. offices

Posted: Updated:

KNOXVILLE (WATE) -- Knox County Trustee Fred Sisk and Register of Deeds Sherry Witt were already in office, thanks to county commission appointments, but they were facing opponents in Thursday's election.

Sisk defeated Robert Bratton by 9,000 votes. Witt won her race over Scott Emge by a slightly larger margin.

Sisk and Witt were first appointed to their offices by the county commission in January 2007 after the state Supreme Court found the appointments violated county term limits. Following a lawsuit against the county voided the first appointments, they were appointed again in February.

In two other countywide races, Phil Ballard defeated two opponents to take the assessor's office.

Foster Arnett easily won over Amy Henley Vandergriff.

Vandergriff drew media attention in June when her husband was arrested for attacking her and another man in June in a West Knox County parking lot. She has filed for an order of protection against him. He has filed for divorce.

Knox County Assessor  (94 of 94 precincts)
Andrew Graybeal 14,099  
Phil Ballard 25,098 x 
Robert Bedwell  3,465  
Knox County Trustee  (94 of 94 precincts)
Robert Bratton 16,772  
Fred Sisk  25,838 x 
Knox County Clerk  (81 of 94 precincts)
Amy Henley Vandergriff 8,926  
Foster Arnett, Jr.  27,050 x 
Knox County Register of Deeds  (94 of 94 precincts)
Scott Emge 16,382  
Sherry Witt  26,681 x 


Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091
Email: newsroom@wate.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.