Tennessee principals receive honor for academic achievement

Tennessee principals receive honor for academic achievement


NASHVILLE (WATE) - Three East Tennessee principals are among the educators being honored Monday for achievements in their schools' classrooms.

The Education Consumers Foundation is recognizing 18 principals across the state through its annual Value-Added Achievement Awards.

The three from the WATE viewing area being honored are: 

  • Suzanne Wampler, Fairview Marguerite School in Hamblen County
  • Rick Wilson, John Sevier Elementary School in Maryville
  • Sandra Burchette, Newport Grammar School in Newport
  • The winners were selected learning gains made by the entire student body, as measured by scores from Tennessee's Value-Added Assessment System.

    A ceremony was scheduled for Monday at the Tennessee Supreme Court to honor the principals.

    A complete list of the winners can be found on the Education Consumers Foundation website.

    Powered by WorldNow

    1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
    Tennessee 37917

    Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
    Fax: 865.525.4091
    Email: newsroom@wate.com

    Can’t find something?
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.