Lawmakers mull bill to require ultrasound, 24-hr waiting period

Lawmakers mull bill to require ultrasound, 24-hour waiting period for abortions

Posted:
"A majority of those women have one to two children. These are not naive young women who don't know what they are getting into," explained Corinne Rovetti. "A majority of those women have one to two children. These are not naive young women who don't know what they are getting into," explained Corinne Rovetti.
"The more knowledge you have, the more you know about who the baby is, you know it's a heartbeat, that it's a real baby and not a blob of tissue," explained Fletcher Armstrong. "The more knowledge you have, the more you know about who the baby is, you know it's a heartbeat, that it's a real baby and not a blob of tissue," explained Fletcher Armstrong.

By MONA NAIR
6 News Reporter

NASHVILLE (WATE) - Lawmakers in Nashville are considering a bill that would put new restrictions on a woman seeking an abortion.

The proposed bill would require a woman to view an ultrasound and wait 24 hours before having an abortion.

It would also require the ultrasound technician to make the fetal heartbeat audible. If a woman declines to view the sonogram, the results would be verbally described to her.

The ultrasound would be waived in cases of medical emergency.

State Sen. Jim Tracy of Shelbyville is sponsoring the measure.

Staff at Knoxville Center for Reproductive Health see women from Tennessee, Georgia and Virginia coming in for abortions.

"A majority of those women have one to two children. These are not naive young women who don't know what they are getting into," explained clinic co-director Corinne Rovetti. She believes the proposed law is a violation of women's privacy.

"This is a bill whose only purpose is to shame and belittle women. To make women feel as if they don't know they're pregnant and therefore the law tells them they must have an ultrasound," Rovetti said.

While pro-choice groups see the proposed law as a form of harassment, local pro-life organizations say it's about giving a woman as much information as possible on the decision being made.

"The more knowledge you have, the more you know about who the baby is, you know it's a heartbeat, that it's a real baby and not a blob of tissue," explained Fletcher Armstrong, with the Center for Bio-Ethical Reform.

Fletcher believes the information would change minds.

"When abortion minded women see ultrasounds, many of them will choose life," he said.

Rovetti says the women coming into her clinic already know what they want. The proposed law would just make the process a whole lot tougher on them.

"These bills are about obstacles and barriers. It's about making it difficult to get abortions for women. It doesn't deter women from making the decision they know is right for them," she said.

To contact your local state senator or representative about this issue, find your lawmakers and their contact information below.

State Representatives by District:

• 25 - Cameron Sexton - Cumberland County; (615) 741-2343, rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov

• 41 - John Mark Windle - Morgan, parts of Fentress Counties; (931) 823-3970 or (615) 741-1260; rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

• 38 - Kelly Keisling - Scott County, parts of Fentress; (615) 741-6852, rep.kelly.keisling@capitol.tn.gov

• 31 - Ron Travis - part of Roane County; (615) 741-1450, rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov

• 23 - John Forgety - McMinn County and parts of Monroe County; (615) 741-1725, rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

• 21 - Jimmy Matlock - Parts of Loudon County, parts of Monroe County; (615) 741-3736, rep.jimmy.matlock@capitol.tn.gov

• 32 - Kent Calfee - parts of Roane County, parts of Loudon County; (615) 741-7658, rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov

• 33 - John Ragan - part of Anderson County; (615) 741-4400, rep.john.ragan@capitol.tn.gov

• 08 - Art Swann - part of Blount County (Walland and parts of Maryville and Alcoa); (615) 741-5481, rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov

• 20 - Bob Ramsey - part of Blount County (Friendsville and parts of Maryville and Alcoa); (615) 741-3560, rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov

• 13 - Gloria Johnson - part of Knox County (South Knox County, some of West, North Knoxville); (615) 741-2031, rep.gloria.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

• 14 - Ryan Haynes - part of Knox County (Farragut, Rocky Hill); (615) 741-2264, rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov

• 15 - Joe E. Armstrong - part of Knox County (South Knoxville, East Knoxville, Mechanicsville, UT campus); (865) 357-1524, (615) 741-0768, rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov

• 16 - Bill Dunn - parts of Knox County (Powell, Fountain City); (865) 687-4904, rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov

• 18 - Steve Hall - parts of Knox County (the mall, Cedar Bluff, parts of Karns); (615) 741-2287, rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov

• 89 - Roger Kane - part of Knox County (Karns, Northwest); (615) 741-4110, rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

• 36 - Dennis Powers - Campbell County, parts of Union County, parts of Anderson County; (615) 741-3335, rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov

• 12 - Dale Carr - part of Sevier County (Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, parts of Sevierville, part of Seymour); (615) 741-5981, mailto:rep.dale.carr@capitol.tn.gov

• 17 - Andrew Farmer - north part of Sevier County, part of Jefferson County (Kodak, New Market, Dandridge); (615) 741-4419, rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov

• 19 - Harry Brooks - part of Knox County (eastern-most part, west part of Strawberry Plains, Corryton); (615) 741-6879, rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov, http://www.repharrybrooks.com/

• 35 - Dennis E. Roach - Claiborne County, Grainger County, part of Union County; (865) 828-4356, (615) 741-2534, rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov

• 11 - Jeremy Faison - Cocke County, east part of Jefferson County, western part of Greene County; (615) 741-6871, rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov

• 10 - Tilman Goins - Hamblen County; (615) 741-6877, rep.tilman.goins@capitol.tn.gov

• 09 - Michael Harrison - Hawkins County, Hancock County; (423) 235-6803, (615) 741-7480, rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov

• 05 - David Hawk - most of Greene County (north and eastern parts); (615) 741-7482, rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

State Senators by District:

• District 9 - Mike Bell - McMinn and Monroe Counties; (615) 741-1946, sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

• District 15 - Charlotte Burks - Cumberland County; (931) 839-3392, (615) 741-3978, sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

• District 12 - Ken Yager - Campbell, Fentress, Morgan, Rhea, Roane, Pickett and Scott Counties; (865) 285-9797, (615) 741-1449, sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov, http://www.kenyager.com/

• District 5 - Randy McNally - Anderson, Loudon, and part of Knox Counties (Powell); (865) 483-5544, (615) 741-6806, sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov

• District 8 - Frank Niceley - Claiborne, Grainger, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson and Union Counties, (615) 741-2061, sen.frank.niceley@capitol.tn.gov

• District 7 - Stacey Campfield - part of Knox County (Farragut, downtown, part of Fountain City); (615) 741-1766, sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

• District 6 - Becky Duncan Massey - part of Knox County (South and East Knox County); (865) 693-7239, (615) 741-1648, sen.becky.massey@capitol.tn.gov

• District 2 - Doug Overbey - Blount and most of Sevier County (except upper Northeast); (615) 741-0981, 1-800-449-8366 ext. 10981, sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov

• District 1 - Steve Southerland - Cocke, Greene, Hamblen, and part of Sevier County; (423) 587-6167, (615) 741-3851, sen.steve.southerland@capitol.tn.gov

Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091
Email: newsroom@wate.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.