Chattanooga voters choose Berke for mayor

Chattanooga voters choose Berke for mayor


CHATTANOOGA (AP) - Chattanooga voters have given Andy Berke a big victory in the mayor's race.

With 100% of the vote in, the Chattanooga Times Free Press showed unofficial results for Berke with 12,906 votes, or 72.2%, in the nonpartisan race. Guy Satterfield received 4,224 votes.

The city was also electing council members in nine districts.

Chris Anderson defeated incumbent Manny Rico in District 7, and Jack Benson and Larry Grohn will compete in a runoff for District 4. Ken Smith defeated incumbent Pam Ladd in District 3.

Jerry Mitchell won District 2, and Moses Freeman defeated incumbent Andrae McGary in District 8.

Chip Henderson won in District 1. Former councilman Yusuf Hakeem and incumbent Peter Murphy appeared headed for a runoff in District 9.

Incumbents Russell Gilbert Sr. and Carol Berz faced no opposition in their re-election bids.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WATE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.