Marker to honor ETSU's first black students

Marker to honor ETSU's first black students


JOHNSON CITY  (AP) - East Tennessee State University will be unveiling a new historical marker and memorial fountain that honors five students who desegregated the college.

The official dedication of the marker will be held Monday at noon in front of Sherrod Library.

The marker lists the names of Elizabeth Watkins Crawford, George L. Nichols, Mary Luellen Owens Wagner, Eugene Caruthers and Clarence McKinney who were the first black students at East Tennessee State College, which is now ETSU.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WATE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.