8 Tenn. historic places added to national register

8 Tenn. historic places added to national register

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE (AP) - Eight Tennessee sites spanning the state have been added to the National Register of Historic Places.

The newly recognized sites are:

Beaty General Merchandise Store in Fentress County.

Crockett Tavern Museum in Hamblen County.

Greenback Depot in Loudon County.

M.A. Helm House in McMinn County

Rocky Springs Presbyterian Church in Sevier County;

Sears Roebuck and Co. Catalog Distribution Center and Retail Store In Shelby County

Wartburg Presbyterian Church in Morgan County.

Westmoreland Water Wheel and Gatepost in Knox County.

The Tennessee Historical Commission says the sites' recognition honors the state and helps residents understand their heritage.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091
Email: newsroom@wate.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.