Lincoln, bordering counties, to get federal aid

Lincoln, bordering counties, to get federal aid

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE (AP) - A disaster declaration has been granted for Lincoln County and its bordering counties for flooding and tornado damage last month.

The declaration includes Bedford, Franklin, Giles, Lincoln, Marshall and Moore counties in Tennessee. Homeowners and businesses affected by the bad weather will be eligible for low-interest federal loans.

On April 28, Tennessee experienced an outbreak of severe storms producing heavy rain, hail and damaging winds.

A tornado touched down in Lincoln County striking several homes and South Lincoln Elementary School. The tornado killed two people and injured six more.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.