Ash quarantine expanded to four more East Tennessee counties

Ash quarantine expanded to four more East Tennessee counties

(source: Tennessee Department of Agriculture) (source: Tennessee Department of Agriculture)
NASHVILLE (WATE) -  Four more counties were added to the list of the ash tree quarantine Friday in an attempt to inhibit the transfer of the Emerald Ash Borer.

Bradley, McMinn, Meigs and Polk counties were all added to the list that now includes 29 counties over Middle and East Tennessee.

Previous story: Ash products quarantine expanded to Fentress, Morgan counties

EAB, as the pest is commonly called, was first located in Knox County in 2010 and has since spread like wildfire. The destructive pest is very harmful to all ash species.

It was first introduced to the United States in the 90s from Asia, and can now be found in 24 U.S. states and parts of Canada.

The Emerald Ash Borer quarantine prohibits the transport of firewood, ash nursery stock, ash timber and other materials that could possibly spread the EAB.

The Tennessee Department of Agriculture asks that you report any symptomatic trees and leave firewood at home when traveling to campsites, and instead buy local firewood near the site where it will be burned.

Powered by WorldNow

1306 N. Broadway NE Knoxville,
Tennessee 37917

Telephone: 865.637.NEWS(6397)
Fax: 865.525.4091

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Knoxville, Inc. A Media General Company.