Big Ears Festival announces 2019 lineup

As Seen On WATE

For the tenth year, the Big Ears Festival will be displaying some of Knoxville’s celebrated artists of music, film and art in a weekend-long event March 21-24, 2019.

The festival will host 100-plus performances over the course of the weekend, which is described on the website as a celebration “of Knoxville’s historic theaters, nightclubs, churches, discussions, interactive workshops, installations, film screenings, surprise collaborations, and unexpected artistic collisions.”

Performers include:

  • Acme
  • Alvin Lucier 
  • Avishai Cohen Quartet 
  • Bill Frisell & Thomas Morgan 
  • Bill Frisell and the Mesmerists featuring Tony Scheer 
  • Kenny Wollesen and the films of Bill Morrison  
  • Brooklyn Rider
  • Carl Stone 
  • Carla Bley Trios with Andy Sheppard and Steve Swallow 
  • Carla Kihlstedt 
  • Clarice Jensen + Jonathan Turner: For This From That Will Be Filled 
  • Coupler 
  • Dejohnette Coltrane Garrison 
  • Derek Gripper 
  • Dragnet Girl with live score by Coupler 
  • Evan Parker/Matt Wright Trance Map+
  • Ever Present Orchestra featuring Stephen O’Malley and Oren Ambarchi perform the works of Alvin Lucier,
  • Harold Budd 
  • International Contemporary Ensemble 
  • Irreversible Entanglements 
  • Jerusalem In My Heart 
  • Jlin 
  • Joan La Barbara 
  • Joan La Barbara performs works by Alvin Lucier
  • Joan La Barbara: Voice is the Original Instrument
  • Joep Beving
  • Kara-Lis Coverdale 
  • Kayhan Kalhor & Brooklyn Rider 
  • Kim Kashkashian 
  • Lonnie Holley 
  • Lonnie Holley and The Messthetics 
  • Mary Halvorson’s Code Girl
  • Mathias Eick Quintet
  • Matt Wilson’s Honey & Salt 
  • Mercury Rev 
  • Meredith Monk & Vocal Ensemble Cellular Songs Concert 
  • Nief-Norf 
  • Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin
  • Nils Frahm
  • Peter Gregson
  • Rachel Grimes: The Way Forth
  • Rafio Bhatia: Breaking English
  • Ralph Towner
  • Rhiannon Giddens and Francesco Turrisi
  • Richard Thompson: Killed In Action
  • Roomful Of Teeth
  • Schlippenbach Trio
  • Shai Maestro Trio
  • Sons of Kemet
  • Spiritualized
  • Sun Of Goldfinger
  • The Art Ensemble Of Chicago
  • The Comet Is Coming
  • The Messthetics
  • The Nashville Ballet: Lucy Negro Redux choreography by Paul Westerling with music by Rhiannon Giddens & Francesco Turrisi and poetry by Caroline Randall 
  • Theo Bleckmann: Berlin – Songs of Love and War, Peace and Exile
  • Theo Bleckmann: Hello Earth! The Music of Kate Bush
  • Thumbscrew
  • Tim Berne’s Snakeoil
  •  Triptych: On the work of Robert Mapplethorpe, featuring Roomful Of Teeth, composed by Bryce Dressner, Libretto by Korde Arrington Tuttle, featuring the work of Patti Smith & Essex Hemphill, directed by Daniel Fish
  • Wadada Leo Smith solo: Reflections and Meditations on Monk
  • Wadada Leo Smith’s NDA, performing “Divine Love” with Bobby Naughton and Dwight Andrews
  • Yves Tumor

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter