KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WATE) – Here are the candidates running for office statewide and in Knox County for the Aug. 6 elections as well as key dates.

Three elections are being held in Knox County:

  • Federal and state primaries
  • Knox County General Election
  • Farragut Board of Aldermen election

Key dates:

  • The last day to register to vote in August is July 7.
  • Early voting is July 17-Aug. 1.
  • The last day to request an absentee ballot is July 30.
  • Absentee ballots must be mailed back in time for your county election commission to receive it no later than the close of polls on election day, Aug. 6.
  • Election day is Aug. 6.


The Knox County Election Commission has a list of early voting locations and if you are voting on election day, you can look up your polling place.

(Mobile users: if the candidate list doesn’t display correctly, go here.)

Qualified Candidates for United States Senate

Republican Pirmary

Clifford AdkinsPortland
Natisha BrooksNashville
Byron BushBrentwood
Roy Dale CopeChattanooga
Terry DicusSavannah
Tom Emerson Jr.Brighton
George S. Flinn Jr.Memphis
Bill HagertyNashville
Jon HenryRiddleton
Kent A. MorrellKnoxville
Glen L. Neal Jr. Kodak
John E. OsborneNashville
Aaron L. PettigrewMurfreesboro
David SchusterMaryville
Manny SethiNashville
Republican candidates for U.S. Senate

Democratic Primary

Marquita BradshawMemphis
Gary G. DavisNashville
Robin KimbroughHendersonville
James MacklerNashville
Mark PickrellNashville
Democdratic candidates for U.S. Senate

Independent candidates

Yomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr.Brentwood
Jeffrey Alan GrunauKnoxville
Ronnie HenleyNewbern
G. Dean HillFranklin
Steven J. HooperMcEwen
Aaron JamesMemphis
Elizabeth McLeodNashville
Kacey MorganGallatin
Eric William StansberryKenton
Independent candidates for U.S. Senate

Final Candidates Federal Primary, State Primary

United States Congress, District 2

Tim BurchettRepublican Primary
Chance C. BrownDemocratic Primary
Renee HoyosDemocratic Primary
Candidates for US Congress District 2

State Senate, District 6

Becky Duncan MasseyRepublican Primary
Sam BrownDemocratic Primary
Jane GeorgeDemocratic Primary
Candidates for State Senate, District 6

Satte House Candidates

District 13

Elaine DavisRepublican Primary
Gloria JohnsonDemocratic Primary
TN State Rep. District 13

District 14

Jason ZacharyRepublican Primary
Justin DavisDemocratic Primary
TN State Rep. District 14

District 15

Ovi KabirDemocratic Primary
Sam McKenzieDemocratic Primary
Matthew ParkDemocratic Primary
Rick StaplesDemocratic Primary
Troy B. Jones Independent
TN State Rep. District 15

District 16

Patti Lou BoundsRepublican Primary
Michele CarringerRepublican Primary
Elizabeth RowlandDemocratic Primary
TN State Rep. District 16

District 18

Eddie MannisRepublican Primary
Gina Oster Republican Primary
Virginia CouchDemocratic Primary
TN State Rep. District 18

Knox County General Election

Criminal Court Judge Division II, District 6

Kyle HixsonRepublican
Criminal Court Judge Division II, District 6

Public Defender

Eric M. LuttonRepublican
Sherif GuindiIndependent
Public Defender

County Commission District 1

Dasha LundyDemocratic
Reginald M. JacksonIndependent
County Commission District 1

County Commission District 2

Grant RosenbergRepoublican
Courtney DurrettDemocratic
County Commission District 2

County Commission District 4

Kyle WardRepublican
Todd FrommeyerDemocratic
County Commission District 4

County Commission District 5

John SchoonmakerRepublican
Kimberly PetersonDemocratic
County Commission District 5

County Commission District 6

Terry HillRepublican
County Commission District 6

County Commission District 8

Richie BeelerRepublican
County Commission District 8

County Commission District 9

Carson DaileyRepublican
County Commission District 9

Assessor of Property

John R. WhiteheadRepublican
Assessor of Property

Law Director

David BuuckRepublican
Jackson FennerIndependent
Law Director

Board of Education

Jennifer OwenDistrict 2
Daniel WatsonDistrict 3
Susan HornDistrict 5
Mike McMillanDistrict 8
Board of Education

Farragut City Election

Farragut Board of Alderman Ward 1 & Ward 2

Louise Povlin — Ward 1N/A
Drew Burnette — Ward 2N/A
Farragut Bd. Of Alderman, Ward 1/2