Governor appeals denial of flood aid to Sevier, four other counties

Local News
bill lee (2)_1557460071694.jpg-842162552.jpg

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee is appealing federal decision to deny flood aid to Sevier and four other counties.

“I am committed to pursuing every avenue available to obtain relief for our citizens, communities, and neighbors who are still recovering from the flooding and storms,” Lee said.

Besides Sevier, the counties denied aid are Decatur, Hardin, Humphreys and Perry.

Currently, 59 counties eligible for the federal Public Assistance program, made available in the Major Disaster Declaration for Tennessee on April 17, 2019, to include:  Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Blount, Campbell, Carter, Cheatham, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Coffee, Decatur, Dekalb, Dickson, Dyer, Fentress, Gibson, Giles, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Hawkins, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Loudon, Marion, Marshall, McNairy, Moore, Morgan, Obion, Overton, Perry, Rhea, Roane, Robertson, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith, Tipton, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, and Wayne.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter

WATE 6 Storm Weather School
A Paw-sitive Note