Measure to split California into 3 states heads to ballot


This fall, California voters will decide if the Golden State should be split into three separate states. 

Known as “CAL 3,” the proposal pushed by local capital investor Tim Draper has gained the necessary signatures required to get on the November ballot, the Secretary of the State’s office confirmed on Tuesday. 

According to the proposal, this will solve issues in the state including failing school systems, high taxes, deteriorating infrastructure and strained government. 

California governments would be served by three smaller state governments. 

The 3 states would be as follows: 

Northern California: This would include the Bay Area and the 31 remaining counties north of Sacramento.

California: This will be considered the new state which includes Los Angeles, Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey and San Benito counties.

Southern California: San Diego, San Bernardino, Orange, Riverside, Mono, Madera, Inyo, Tulare, Fresno, Kings, Kern and Imperial counties.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 Storm Weather School

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter