Oak Ridge Boys among 2015 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) –The Oak Ridge Boys, Grady Martin and The Browns, made up of Jim Ed, Maxine and Bonnie, make up the 2015 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees.

The announcement was made Wednesday morning at the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Jim Ed Brown

“The induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame is the highest honor I could ever imagine receiving,” said Duane Allen of The Oak Ridge Boys. “It still gives me chills when I think about it really happening. I am humbled to the core.

The Oak Ridge Boys, whose career spans from the 1940s, is known for their hits including “Elvira” and “Bobby Sue.”

The group joined the Grand Ole Opry in 2011.

The Browns, a sibling trio found success in the 1950s. Jim Ed Brown embarked on a successful solo career for more than a decade in the mid-1960s to mid-70s.

“Today is an overwhelming day not just for me, but for the Brown family,” said Jim Ed Brown. “Receiving this honor with my sisters, Maxine and Bonnie, is something I had dreamed about for years, but never knew if it would happen or not. Fame is fleeting, hit records change every week, award show winners and nominees change every year, but being inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame will be forever.”

Brown was inducted into the Grand Ole Opry in 1963. He continues to play on the historic stage and returned earlier this year after undergoing cancer treatment.

Martin, a long-time guitarist is also being honored posthumously. Martin passed away in 2001.

One of his son’s spoke on his behalf.

The ceremony will be held later this year.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter