Democratic leadership remains unchanged in Tennessee Senate

Tennessee Senate_254302

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – The leadership positions among Democrats’ small state Senate caucus will remain unchanged for the 110th Tennessee General Assembly.

Lee Harris of Memphis was elected to another term as minority leader and Jeff Yarbro of Nashville will remain caucus chairman.

Democrats hold five of 33 seats in the upper chamber of the state Legislature.

Harris says Democrats will work to publicize what he calls a “a positive economic agenda for working and middle class Tennesseans.”

The legislative session gets underway on Jan. 10 with new leadership among Senate Republicans following the retirement of Speaker Ron Ramsey of Blountville. GOP members have nominated longtime Sen. Randy McNally of Oak Ridge to become the new speaker, which also carries the title of lieutenant governor.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter