NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WATE) – A new law allowing Tennesseans to complete an online training course in order to get a concealed carry permit is going into effect Jan. 1.
A bill passed by the General Assembly earlier this year created a new concealed carry-only permit that people can get through a video or online training or safety course.
The course has to be at least 90 minutes long and participants are not required to fire a gun.
The bill was sponsored by a West Tennessee lawmaker who called the current training requirements time-consuming and burdensome.
The current handgun carry permit will be referred to as an “Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit” and will allow both open and concealed carry.
The concealed carry-only permit will cost $65 – which is $35 cheaper than the current permit.
- Poll: More than a third of Americans won’t even trust their doctor to tell them a COVID-19 vaccine is safe
- LIVE COVERAGE: Trump, Biden set to meet in Ohio for 1st debate
- Vols’ Yves Pons to host virtual cooking class for Make-A-Wish
- WATCH: ABC News coverage of the first Presidential Debate in Cleveland
- Oak Ridge Police, FBI investigating bank robbery on South Illinois Avenue; suspect at large