Mr. Football Award Winners Annouced


The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football award winners were announced on Sunday for 2018. Four East Tennessee products walked away with the title in their respective classes. 

Of the four, Greeneville Quarterback Cade Ballard is the only repeat winner. The Class 4A Mr. Football award winner has gone 108 for 126 this season for 2,294 yards, 34 touchdowns and no interceptions. He carried the ball for 399 yards and nine touchdowns helping lead the Green Devils to a second consecutive state title game appearance. 

Greenback’s Bryce Hanley claimed the 1A Mr. Football title after completing 65% of his passes this season for over 2,100 yards, 30 touchdowns and just three interceptions. The Cherokee senior carried the ball for 411 yards and five touchdowns this season while helping Greenback make it to a fourth consecutive state semi-final game. 

Quarterback Walker Russell of Alcoa took the title in Class 3A. The senior Tornado has gone 95 of 137 this season for 23 touchdowns and added two rushing touchdowns on the year. Russell has nearly 4,500 career all-purpose yards and 61 career touchdowns. Alcoa is set to compete for it’s fourth straight state title on Saturday.

Last but not least, Fulton dual-threat Deshawn Page walked away with the 5A Mr. Football title. Offensively, Page had 101 carries for 531 yards and five touchdowns along with seven receptions for 93 yards and four touchdowns. On defense the senior Falcon a force with 59 tackles, 13 tackles for a loss, two sacks and two interceptions. 

Below is a full list of the winners. 


Division I, Class 1A

Bryce Hanley, Greenback

Division I, Class 2A

Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Division I, Class 3A

Walker Russell, Alcoa

Division I, Class 4A

Cade Ballard, Greeneville

Division I, Class 5A

Deshawn Page, Fulton

Division I, Class 6A

Devon Starling, Cane Ridge

Division II, Class A

Stone Norton, Davidson Academy

Division II, Class AA

Eric Gray, Lausanne

Division II, Class AAA

Maurice Hampton, MUS


Garrett Taylor, Oakland

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter