3 Vol legends named to 2019 CFB Hall of Fame Ballot

Orange & White Nation

Three University of Tennessee legends have been named to a ballot list for the College Football Hall of Fame class of 2019. 

Bobby Majors, Larry Seivers and Al Wilson were among 76 former players on this year’s ballot. 

Majors, a standout defensive back for UT from 1969-71, was named a first-team All-SEC performer twice and earned unanimous first-team All-America honors 1971. A native of Sewanee, Majors set the school record for interceptions in a single season, leading the SEC with 10 in 1970, a record that still stands today. Majors was also a dangerous return man as he holds numerous Tennessee records for punt and kick returns. His 117 punts returned, 1,163 punt return yards and four punt return touchdowns all still rank first all time at UT.

Seivers was a star wide receiver for the Vols from 1974-76 and earned consensus first-team All-America honors in consecutive seasons (1975 & 1976). Seivers served as a team captain and became one of Tennessee’s first consistent receiving threats, finishing as the best of his era after leading the Big Orange in receiving yards all three of his years on the varsity squad.

Remembered as one of the greatest leaders in program history, Wilson played linebacker and was a captain on UT’s 1998 team that won the inaugural BCS National Championship. Wilson was the Vols’ only All-American on the 1998 national championship team, earning consensus first-team honors. He was a two-time first-team All-SEC pick as well as a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and a semifinalist for the Butkus Award as a senior. 

The ballot was sent to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the class. 

Peyton Manning was the last representative from UT to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the 23rd Tennessee Volunteer to earn the distinguished honor back in 2017.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Class will be announced on Jan. 7, 2019 in Santa Clara, Calif., before the CFP National Championship game at Levi’s Stadium. 

To see the complete list of the players and coaches on this year’s ballot, click HERE.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter