Vols’ Pons named SEC Defensive Player of the Year, Fulkerson gets second-team All-SEC nod

Orange & White Nation

Tennessee guard Yves Pons (35) blocks a shot by Vanderbilt forward Matthew Moyer (13) during the first half of an NCAA college basketball game Saturday, Jan. 18, 2020, in Nashville, Tenn. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WATE) — Tennessee Vols forward Yves Pons is the first player in school history to win the SEC Defensive Player of the Year award.

The Southeastern Conference announced its postseason awards Tuesday. Pons was joined by fellow junior John Fulkerson in the honors. Fulkerson was named as a second-team All-SEC player.

Pons started all 31 regular-season games for the Vols and tied the school record for blocks with 73 (C.J. Black, 1997-98). The prolific shot blocker ranks 24th in the country with 2.4 blocks per game and had at least one block in all 31 games.

His 2.3 blocks per game during SEC games lead the conference. The native of Fuveau, France, also averaged 10.8 points per game and had a career-high 24 points against Kansas on Jan. 28 for the Vols.

John Fulkerson
Courtesy: UT Sports

Fulkerson leads the team in rebounds (183), rebounds per game (5.9) and steals (33). He is also tied with senior Jordan Bowden for most points per game (13.7) for the Vols.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive, Sixth-Man and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league’s 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.

Tennessee’s next game is Thursday, March 12. The Vols will begin the SEC tournament as the No. 8 seed and face ninth-seeded Alabama. Tipoff is 1 p.m. EDT at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

First Team All-SEC

  • Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama
  • Mason Jones, Arkansas
  • Samir Doughty, Auburn
  • Keyontae Johnson, Florida
  • Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky
  • Nick Richards, Kentucky
  • Skylar Mays, LSU
  • Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
  • Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

Second Team All-SEC

  • John Petty Jr., Alabama
  • Isaac Okoro, Auburn
  • Kerry Blackshear Jr., Florida
  • Anthony Edwards, Georgia
  • Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky
  • Maik Kotsar, South Carolina
  • John Fulkerson, Tennessee
  • Saben Lee, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team

  • Jaden Shackelford, Alabama
  • Isaac Okoro, Auburn
  • Scottie Lewis, Florida
  • Anthony Edwards, Georgia
  • Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky
  • Trendon Watford, LSU
  • Jermaine Couisnard, South Carolina
  • Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team

  • Herbert Jones, Alabama
  • Isaac Okoro, Auburn
  • Ashton Hagans, Kentucky
  • Nick Richards, Kentucky
  • Yves Pons, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: John Calipari, Kentucky

Player of the Year: Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Anthony Edwards, Georgia

Sixth-Man of the Year: Tyson Carter, Mississippi State

Defensive Player of the Year: Yves Pons, Tennessee

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

WATE 6 On Your Side Twitter

Trending Stories